• 500 Eldorado Blvd. Suite 4300 Broomfield, CO 80021
  • 303-813-5190

Charity Trap Shoot Winners Take Home $13,000 in Prizes

August 22, 2011
Holy Rosary Healthcare Foundation's Second Annual Sportsmen's Charity Classic Trap Shoot & Annie Oakley Shoot-Out was held Saturday, August 13, at the Custer Rod & Gun Club in Miles City.

Over 75 men, women, and youth from across Montana, North and South Dakota, Alaska, Texas, Colorado, and Florida competed in the trap competition and individual shoot-out while over 200 spectators looked on. Over $13,000 in individual and team prizes including six shotguns were won by participants.

Top Teams

Fifteen 5-person teams competed in three rounds of trap competition at the event. After the three rounds, two teams were tied with scores of 298 which lead to an exciting team dueling shoot-out to determine the winner.

  • Top team (298; 8 in shootout): John Olsen, Terry Sgrignoli, and Tom Beeson of Miles City, Glen Franklin of Colstrip, and DJ Hubbert of Fallon.
  • Second place (298; 6 in shootout): Miles City's Suzanne Seaba, Jeremy Kueffler, Jeff Skidmore, Wayne Buck of Rosebud, and Greg Kuczur of Colstrip.
  • Third place (297): Miles City's Quade Jessen, Jim Howe, and Jack Crimmings, and Baker's Nicole Kono and Jared Booth.
  • Fourth place (292): Miles City's Keith Hall, Bill Howell, Nancy Okerman, and Jesse Smith, and Billings' Tyler Hess.

Individual Top Shooters

Youth (under 18)

  • Top youth shooter (scoring 65 of 75): DJ Hubbert, Fallon (winning Keystone Cricket single shot 22)
  • 2nd place, youth (47): Austin Wiley, Miles City
  • 3rd place, youth (45): Chase Nelson, Miles City
  • 4th place, youth (35): Shelby Sleaford, Shepherd
  • 5th place, youth (31): Nicholas Beaner, Miles City


  • Top women's shooter (scoring 62 of 75): Nicole Kono, Baker (winning Franchi 20-gauge Shotgun)
  • 2nd place, women (53): Suzanne Seaba, Miles City
  • 3rd place (51): Nancy Okerman, Miles City
  • 4th place (43): Angie Dodge, Miles City


  • Top adult men's shooter (scoring 73 of 75): Greg Kuczur, Colstrip (winning Browning Citori 12-gauge Shotgun)
  • 2nd place, mens (72): Glen Franklin, Colstrip
  • 3rd place (71): Keith Hall, Miles City
  • 4th place (70): Tom Hess, Billings; Jeff Kueffler, Miles City

Colstrip's Greg Kuczur was named the top shooter of the event and was presented with an Achievement Award from the Montana Army National Guard. Kuczur earned perfect scores in two rounds of the individual and tem competition, was the top men's shooter, shot on the second place team, and won the HRH Foundation Annie Oakley Finale.

Annie Oakley Shoot Out Results

One of the day's features included the Annie Oakley Shoot-Out which is a game of elimination involving quick thinking and sharp shooting.

Steadman's Ace Hardware Annie Oakley Feature (with 42 competitors)

  • Top shooter: David Kono, Baker (winning Weatherby 12-gauge Shotgun)
  • 2nd place: Andrew Kirsch, Florida
  • 3rd place: Keith Hall, Miles city

Annie Oakley Double

  • Top Shooter: Alan Dodge, Miles City (winning Browning Citori 12-gauge Shotgun)
  • 2nd place: Fred Teschner, Miles City
  • 3rd place: Mark Bichler, Miles City

HRH Foundation Annie Oakley Finale

  • Top Shooter: Greg Kuczur, Colstrip (winning Winchester Model 101 Select Field 12-gauge Shotgun)
  • 2nd place: DJ Hubbert, Fallon
  • 3rd place: Mark Bichler, Miles City

Two major trips were also given away during the awards ceremony. Karl Drga of Miles City won two tickets to the 2011 Professional Bull Riders World Championships in Las Vegas. Charlene Wiley of Fort Collins, CO, won a Scottsdale/Phoenix vacation package gifted by Allegiant Air.

Event photos are available for viewing at www.facebook.com/HRHFoundation. All proceeds from the event benefitted the eastern Montana children's healthcare project to enhance local access to high-quality specialized children's care. Plans are already underway for the 2012 event. The Holy Rosary Healthcare Foundation may be reached by visiting http://www.hrhfoundation.com or calling 406.233.4043.